Wood Awards launches call for entries

The Wood Awards: Excellence in British Architecture and Product Design, open to anyone involved in a UK-based wood project, has launched its 2019 call for entries.

Established in 1971, the Wood Awards recognises, encourages and promotes outstanding design, craftsmanship and installation using wood in projects throughout the UK. Its elite independent judging panel not only judges all submitted entries but also visits the shortlisted projects in person.

The shortlist will be announced in July and the winners will be announced at the Wood Awards ceremony on 19th November 2019 at Carpenters’ Hall in London. The shortlisted projects will be on display at the ceremony and during the London Design Festival in September.

With permission from the owner, anyone associated with a building or product completed in the last two years can enter and entrants may submit more than one project.

The closing date for applications is 24th May and the competition is free to enter. Entries must be submitted via

Buildings must be located within the UK whilst furniture and other products must have been either designed or manufactured in the UK. Fitted furniture must be in the UK. There are no restrictions on the size or budget of a project.

The Furniture & Product competition will be split into Bespoke, Production Made and Student Designer which is open to anyone currently in education or who has left education in the past 12 months. Within the Student category there are two cash prizes (£1,000 for the Winner and £500 for the People’s Choice).

The 2019 buildings categories will be confirmed later this year. These are likely to be Commercial & Leisure, Education & Public Sector, Interiors, Private and Small Project. Other awards, such as Structural and Existing Building awards, can be given at the judges’ discretion.

Look! Look! Look! Small Project Winner 2018

As a not-for-profit competition, the Wood Awards can only happen with collaborative industry sponsorship. Major Sponsors of the Wood Awards 2019 are American Hardwood Export Council and The Carpenters’ Company and Mears Group. Other sponsors include American Softwoods, Arnold Laver, Forestry Commission, Timber Trade Federation, TRADA and Wood for Good.

The buildings judges panel is led by three-time Gold Award winner Stephen Corbett of Green Oak Carpentry and includes Andrew Lawrence, Arup; Adam Richards, Adam Richards Architects; Kirsten Haggart, Waugh Thistleton Architects; Nathan Wheatley, engenuiti; David Morley, David Morley Architects; Jim Greaves, Hopkins; Jonas Lencer, dRMM; and journalist Ruth Slavid.

The furniture and product panel is led by design critic, curator and journalist Corinne Julius. The panel includes Oliver Stratford, editor of Disegno magazine; Russell Pinch of Pinch Design; Rod Wales of Wales & Wales; and previous winners Yael Mer of Raw Edges and Eleanor Lakeland.

MAIN PIC – Storey’s Field Centre & Eddington Nursery, Mears Group Gold Award and Commercial & Leisure Winner 2018





Related Articles

Back to top button

Ad Blocker detected

Advertising helps fund the Timber Media website for our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker on our website.