Shortlist announced for 2018 British Woodworking Federation Awards at W Exhibition

The shortlist for the 2018 British Woodworking Federation (BWF) Awards – now in its 10th year – has been announced.

The awards have been designed to celebrate the ‘best of the best’ in woodworking and to give people in the industry an opportunity to recognise technical innovation, excellence, process efficiencies and the high level of health and safety achieved in the woodworking sector. The BWF is also honouring rising stars with a special award dedicated to apprentices or trainees working in the industry.

The shortlisted names were announced by Helen Hewitt, acting CEO of the BWF, at the woodworking machinery and materials show, The W Exhibition and furniture components show, Elements.

She said: “We had an incredible number of entries this year. They all demonstrated the wealth of talent, outstanding design and craftsmanship on offer. Every one of us is united by our passion for wood. As an industry, we are dedicated to achieving excellence, best practice and growth and to promote the many benefits of using wood for a build or renovation. The BWF Awards are here to celebrate this fact.

“It’s a pleasure and privilege to see all the inspirational work that has been submitted for the awards this year and to learn more about the people who are driving this industry forward. I’d also like to thank our kind sponsors for their support. This enables us to raise the profile of UK woodworking and give the recognition businesses and individuals deserve. I’m very much looking forward to announcing the winners in November.”

The shortlist for 2018’s British Woodworking Federation Awards is as follows:

Woodworking Project of the Year (sponsored by Whitehill):

  • TMJ Interiors
  • Houghtons of York
  • Tompkins Joinery

Product Design in Wood category (sponsored by Teknos):

  • Arden Windows
  • Coastal Group (Two entries)

The Process Efficiency Award (sponsored by W Exhibition):

  • Morland
  • Tavener Joinery
  • PDS Doorsets

Health & Safety Hero (sponsored by Didac):

  • Tavener Joinery
  • AJB Group
  • Woodbase Joiners

Apprentice or Trainee of the Year award (sponsored by CITB):

  • Henry Acres from JT Ward
  • James Holligan from Woodland of Kingston
  • Samuel Orchard from J Dixons and Sons

The winners will be announced at the BWF Annual Dinner on Friday 23 November at Stationers’ Hall, London.

Main image: Copyright: Paul Stringer

Related Articles

Back to top button

Ad Blocker detected

Advertising helps fund the Timber Media website for our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker on our website.